Bacon-Swiss BBQ Chicken (Crockpot)

26 Jul

It’s time for another super delicious and easy recipe for summer! I have been looking at this recipe since I first got my “Super-Fast Slow Cooking” cookbook by Gooseberry Patch back in November. Whenever I go to Carl’s Jr, I always get their Charbroiled Chicken Club, which has my two favorite things ever. Bacon, and Swiss cheese. So what if it’s all going to my butt, it tastes AMAZING and I just can’t help myself. So I invited Carrie, Jeff, and my two nephews over for another Sunday dinner so I had an excuse to try this recipe out.

Now, if anyone is wondering how easy this recipe is, it’s the simplest thing I’ve ever made.

Ever.

Seriously.

You put 6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts in a crockpot, top with a bottle of bbq sauce, and cook on low for 8-9 hours.

At some point while it’s cooking, you fry up 6 slices of bacon and make them extra crispy (or more if you are hungry and decide that bacon is the perfect thing to snack on since you’re being taunted by the aroma of bbq chicken coming from your crockpot).

Then 15 minutes before the chicken is done, top each breast with 1 slice of bacon, split in half, and 1 slice of swiss cheese. Turn the crockpot to high and cook for 15 more minutes, or until the cheese is melted.

Voila!

Easy and delicious.

Serve with a garden salad and dinner rolls. Make sure to save some of the bbq sauce from the crockpot to serve over the chicken!

What’s your favorite meal for summertime?

♥ Kate

Bacon-Swiss BBQ Chicken (Crockpot)          [click to print]

Serves 6 (from Super-Fast Slow Cooking by Gooseberry Patch)

Ingredients

6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
16-oz. bottle barbeque sauce
6 slices bacon, halved and crisply cooked
6 slices Swiss cheese

Method

1. Place chicken in a slow cooker; cover with barbeque sauce.

2. Cover and cook on low setting for 8-9 hours.

3. Arrange 2 strips halved bacon over each piece of chicken; top with cheese slices.

4. Cover and cook on high setting until cheese melts, about 15 minutes.

Photo Walkthrough:

Everything you’ll need for this recipe. Chicken breasts, BBQ sauce, bacon, and cheese. Simple, no?
Put the chicken in the crockpot.
Pour bbq sauce on top of chicken.
Lift the chicken up/move it around to help the bbq sauce coat all of the chicken breasts.
Put the cover on the crockpot…
…and set your crockpot to cook on LOW for 8 hours.
Fry the bacon until it’s nice and crisp.
15 minutes before the chicken is done, top each breast with 1 slice of bacon, broken in half.
Then top with cheese. Recover the crockpot and set to HIGH to finish up the cooking. Everything is done in 15 minutes, or once the cheese is melted.

9 Responses to “Bacon-Swiss BBQ Chicken (Crockpot)”

  1. Onnikki Erin Huntley July 27, 2011 at 1:44 AM #

    Just reading this recipe makes me hungry =D…. now I need to get chicken.

    • Banhammer July 27, 2011 at 9:15 AM #

      It looks so unhealthy! I’m in gief! :)

  2. Nancy July 29, 2011 at 6:50 AM #

    Trying it with reduced-fat Swiss and turkey bacon! Thanks!

    • geekkate July 29, 2011 at 12:09 PM #

      Let me know how it turns out!

      ♥ Kate

  3. Kelly July 29, 2011 at 4:51 PM #

    Wow that looks so good. Totally bookmarking this and I need to add that cookbook to my Gooseberry Patch collection!

    • geekkate July 29, 2011 at 4:59 PM #

      I love that cookbook! So far I’ve made three recipes from it, and I’ve loved all of them. I’m so glad my mom picked that out for me as part of my birthday gift!

      Please let me know how your recipes turn out after you get the cookbook! :)

      ♥ Kate

  4. Nants August 10, 2011 at 6:16 AM #

    WOW! This sounds amazing! And easy! And impressive! I will be trying this recipe real soon! Thanks! :-)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mixed Berry Tart « Passion for Life - December 31, 2011

    [...] first was this yummy crockpot recipe which turned out super [...]

  2. 2011 Comes to a Close « Passion for Life - December 31, 2011

    [...] Comments Mixed Berry Tart « Passion for Life on Bacon-Swiss BBQ Chicken (Crockpot)geekkate on Hot Roast Beef SandwichesJames Dorman on Hot Roast Beef Sandwichesgeekkate on [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 465 other followers

