Angel Chicken Pasta

17 Apr

Once again I was searching through AllRecipes (I swear they aren’t giving me any reimbursement for this!! haha) and came across this amazing recipe. This dish has become one of my favorites. The sauce is so creamy and cheesy, and complements the chicken and pasta well. If you’re looking for an easy meal that will impress your family or company, then this recipe is for you!

The first time I made this, I had an old friend from high school over and he looooooooves Italian food, so I thought I would let him be my guinea pig (sorry Roxy, Bella, and Penney, I didn’t mean to offend you guys!). It turned out fabulously, but I did make one alteration. I decided that it didn’t have enough sauce for my liking. Between my friend, TJ, my dad, and myself, there wasn’t enough sauce left over for leftovers! And dry pasta doesn’t taste nearly as good :P

Angel Chicken Pasta                                                                                                             [click to print]
Serves 6 (from www.allrecipes.com)

Ingredients

6 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves
1/4 cup butter
1 (.7oz) pkg dry Italian-style salad dressing mix
1/2 cup white wine
1 can condensed golden mushroom soup
4 oz cream cheese with chives
1 lb angel hair pasta

Method

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.

In a large saucepan, melt butter over low heat. Stir in the package of dressing mix. Blend in wine and golden mushroom soup. Mix in cream cheese, and stir until smooth. Heat through, but do not boil. Arrange chicken breasts in a single layer in a 9×13 inch baking dish. Pour sauce over.

Bake for 60 minutes in the preheated oven. Twenty minutes before the chicken is done, bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a rolling boil. Cook pasta until al dente, about 5 minutes. Drain. Serve chicken and sauce over pasta.

Photo Walkthrough:

Preheat your oven to 325 degrees F.

NOTE: The following pictures will show ingredients for doubled sauce.

Everything you need for Angel Chicken Pasta! You need: 6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, 1/4 cup butter, 1 (.7oz) pkg of dry Italian-style salad dressing mix, 1/2 cup white wine, 1 can condensed golden mushroom soup, 4 ounces cream cheese with chives, and 1 pound angel hair pasta. I found that the first time I made this it didn’t make enough sauce for my liking, so in this picture I have enough ingredients to double it, but I would try it normally first and see what you think.
Cut up your butter into small pieces and add it to a large saucepan over low heat.
While the butter melts, add your chicken breasts to a 13×9 baking dish. I had TJ cut the breasts into slices because it allows the sauce to seep in-between the slices and give the chicken some more flavor. But this is something that I found preferable to just adding the breasts normally.
After the butter has melted, stir in your package of italian dressing mix. Then blend in your wine and golden mushroom soup. Mix in your cream cheese…
…and stir until smooth. Heat through, but do not boil it.
After the sauce is heated, pour it over the chicken breasts. Put the dish in the oven for 60 minutes.
20 minutes before the chicken is done, get water boiling on the stove for the pasta. Lightly salt it.
Once it’s boiling add the pasta and boil until al dente, or 5 minutes.
When the chicken is done, pull it out of the oven and let it sit while you drain the pasta. Then put some pasta on your plate, and spoon the sauce and chicken on top and enjoy!

Please let me know what you think in the comments :)

<3 Kate

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 390 other followers

